CHESHIRE EAST COUNCIL

Minutes of a meeting of the **Appeals Sub-Committee**held on Tuesday, 31st October, 2017 at Committee Suite 1,2 & 3, Westfields,
Middlewich Road, Sandbach CW11 1HZ

PRESENT

Councillor S Edgar (Chairman)

Councillors A Stott and M J Weatherill

Officers in attendance

Chris Broadhurst - SEND Assessment and Monitoring Team Leader Rachel Whitehurst - 14-25 SEND Officer Ian Talton - Lawyer and Clerk to the Appeals Sub-Committee Paul Mountford - Executive Democratic Services Officer

17 APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMAN

RESOLVED

That Councillor S Edgar be appointed Chairman for the meeting.

18 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies had been received from Councillor I Faseyi.

19 **DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST**

There were no declarations of interest.

20 PUBLIC SPEAKING TIME/OPEN SESSION

There were no members of the public present.

21 EXCLUSION OF THE PRESS AND PUBLIC

RESOLVED

That the press and public be excluded from the meeting during consideration of the following item pursuant to Section 100(A)4 of the Local Government Act 1972 as amended on the grounds that it involves the likely discussion of exempt information as defined in Paragraphs 1 and 2 of Part 1 of Schedule 12A to the Local Government Act 1972 and the public interest would not be served in publishing the information.

22 SCHOOL TRANSPORT APPEAL

Case 1

The Sub-Committee considered an appeal against a decision of the Council not to offer assisted school transport.

The Sub-Committee heard the appeal based on the written and oral evidence of the Presenting Officers, who detailed the local authority's case, and the written evidence of the Appellant and the written and oral evidence of his supporters. The Appellant was not present. Members of the Sub-Committee asked questions by way of clarification.

The Presenting Officers and the Appellant's supporters withdrew from the meeting, following which the Sub-Committee reached its decision.

RESOLVED

That the appeal be refused.

The meeting commenced at 2.00 pm and concluded at 3.25 pm

Councillor S Edgar (Chairman)